Sunday, August 28, 2016

Mad for the Plaid by Karen Hawkins


Release Date: August 30th, 2016

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ½  This book was great! This series was great! Seriously love these princes! Ailsa was wonderful and stubborn to a fault sometimes, but honest and caring as well. Nik was a great lead, he was sweet and protective. I enjoyed how he watched Ailsa while they camped, like he was trying to figure her out. Also, I love when the hero says something to the heroine in another language. Leaving me guessing at the meaning like the heroine, till he explains or I go and look it up, either way, it’s a favourite little tidbit for me. The witty banter was fun and their moments alone were charged full of electricity. All of these together made this book hard to put down!


Tata Natasha is ever the matchmaker and always brings a bit of a chuckle with her little plots. Maybe we will see her in the future playing out more of her schemes?? This series has been fantastic. To begin the series, I would suggest reading How to Pursue a Princess. As it’s technically the first book, although it’s not listed as the first, as it is part of another series. I also see there is another novella coming out for this series! Which is exciting!  Karen Hawkins is, as always, a wonderful storyteller. I look forward to reading her next book!  


The order I recommend reading this series in:
  1. How to Pursue a Princess (Duchess Diaries #2)
  2. The Prince Who Loved Me
  3. The Prince and I
  4. The Princess Wore Plaid
  5. Twelve Kisses to Midnight (In the What Happens Under the Mistletoe book)
  6. Mad for the Plaid
*I received and ARC in exchange for an honest review.*


Here's the blurb:


The third captivating, sizzling Scottish historical romance inNew York Times bestseller Karen Hawkins's Princes of Oxenburg series. Fans of Julia Quinn, Monica McCarty and Julie Garwood will be enchanted by this dazzling read.

Prince Nikolai Romanovin is bored out of his bejeweled crown with London's society scene. If he has to make inane small talk or dance with one more tongue-tied virgin, he might actually run off. So when he gets word his beloved grandmother might be in danger back in his homeland of Oxenburg, Nik is all too willing to rush to the estate she's been staying in in the snow-capped mountains of Scotland. Arriving in secret only to find his grandmother missing, Nik devises a plan to switch identities with a member of his honor guard so he can move around freely without the pomp and circumstance that comes with the Crown Prince title. He relishes the freedom that comes with losing his title, until he spots her...

While her five older sisters all enjoyed seasons, got married to men of high station, and had children of their own, Ailsa, the baby of the family, was left at home to be raised by her absent father and her sharp-witted, but ailing grandmother after losing her mother in childbirth. Now twenty-nine years old, the sole caretaker of her grandmother, and the entrenched mistress of the castle, Ailsa has resigned herself to living at the castle and enjoying the amusements offered - spending time with her grandmother, copious amounts of reading, wild rides through the moors, and the occasional ball in the local town. All in all, it's a satisfying, if sedate, life . . . But when she meets a guard more handsome, and far more arrogant and sure of himself than any man she's ever met, she's determined to figure out his secrets, no matter the cost.

Don't miss the previous sublime Princes of Oxenburg books:The Prince Who Loved Me,The Prince And I and The Princess Wore Plaid. And for more umissable Scottish historical romance, catch her amazing Duchess Diaries series.

No comments:

Post a Comment